background patternbackground pattern
User Guide

How to delete your TikTok account?

Feb 14, 20222 min readRahul Sathyakumar

After spending some time on TikTok, creating videos and watching those of other creators, you realise that the app isn't for you anymore. What to do now?

Indeed, it is pointless for your account to exist on the app anymore if you don't want to be a part of it. Your account stores a lot of information about yourself and your device, and it is wise to delete your account if you no longer want to use the app.

Deleting your TikTok account will delete all the videos you have created, and your purchases made through TikTok will no longer be accessible. You can't view chats you have had with your friends on TikTok.

So before you delete your account, make sure you save the necessary data to your device before proceeding.

If you want to reinvent your TikTok profile rather than starting fresh, you can learn how to delete your TikTok videos. This way, you don't have to lose your hard-earned Tiktok followers.


How to delete your TikTok account?


Step 1: Open TikTok.

Grab your device and search for TikTok among your list of apps. Tap it to open it.


Step 2: Profile

Tap the "me" icon at the bottom right corner of your feed to open your Tiktok profile.


Step 3: Privacy and Settings.

Tap the three dots at the top of your profile. This will take you to the "Settings" menu.


Step 4: Manage my account

Once you reach "manage my account," you will see several options.


Step 5: Delete account

Tap on "Delete account." Follow the further instructions to confirm your choice.


You may have to verify your Tiktok account before deleting it. Verification is required if you had used your google account to open an account on TikTok.